Love it or Leave it!!

IF THERE BE TROUBLE, LET IT BE IN MY DAY, THAT MY CHILD MAY HAVE PEACE..Thomas Paine, "The Crisis" 1776, ("The Undefeated").

Out of the mouth of a Babe! “How about cupcakes?”

Posted by devildog6771 on May 14, 2012


Sprinkles Cupcakes in New York

Sprinkles Cupcakes in New York (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

From Freedom by the Way comes another great post: How about Cupcakes?
As one who grew up reasonably slender and healthy; and, later gained an enormous amount of weight due to medication [size 12 to 20 in 6 months] and am still struggling to get rid of that damn “FAT” .. yeess there it is!! I’ve said it and I wasn’t swallowed up by a giant hole that appeared before me out of nowhere!! Amazing.

I don’t mind being called fat. I am! Heat in the winter, shade in the summer! Nor is it cruel to me, rather I am offended by all the efforts made on my behalf to place a label on me that makes me a more acceptable person! Actually the only major difference in the thin me and the heavier version is the size of my clothes. As a sexual assault survivor, self-esteem always took a lot of work.. All the rhetoric back and forth over what to call me instead of fat is a lot like being assaulted again. Listen up people, I have ears and eyes. Stop talking at me or about me. Hell, why not ask me what I like to be called.

I look at all this the same way I looked at “Affirmative Action.” While I understood the intent, I am still angry at what was taken from me, the knowledge that I earned every dollar I made and that no-one gave me anything. I earned every advancement and get this, I did it on my A$$ not my back! I apologize for my colorful language, this is a very intense topic for me.I spent over 23 years developing skills to get around male bias.

So don’t call me anything but my name. After all isn’t that who I really am?

2 Responses to “Out of the mouth of a Babe! “How about cupcakes?””

  1. Freedom, by the way said

    Thanks for the link, Devil dog. None of us will lose any weight reading your Related Articles…I never met a cupcake I didn’t like–I’m with her.

    • HE HE.’m with you both. Since my strokes, I am frustrated that at times it seems I can’t have any fun w/food. Not true though, just got to learn to adapt as any good Marine is taught , lol!

Leave a Reply

 
